• Montague Island. TNSW
    Montague Island. TNSW

Four sites on NSW's far South Coast will be known by dual names in recognition of the local Yuin nation.

Following public consultation, the State's Geographical Names Board officially assigned the dual names of Gulaga for Mount Dromedary, Biamanga for Mumbulla Mountain, Barunguba for Montague Island and Najanuka for Little Dromedary Mountain using the local Dhurga language, the ABC reports.

Bunja Smith, a Walbunja Elder and Chair of the Biamanga and Gulaga National Park Board of Management, welcomed the decision.

"It's hard to describe the elation you feel when you see your culture put up-front," he said.

"It has a reconciliation theme because we've kept both names…but I believe the trend will occur where they start using the Aboriginal name."

The NSW National Parks and Wildlife Service said both names have equal status and are considered official names.

Signs, maps and directories will feature both names and the signage in each park will be updated accordingly.

Click here for the full story.

comments powered by Disqus